Educational Games (and a thank you)

Before I go any further I would like to thank all the wonderful people from the games community who have visited this site recently and left comments about my students work. It really means a lot to both them and me to hear that you all enjoy their games so much. Thanks again and keep checking back if you’d like to see more fun awesome stuff. We’re here all year!

Anyway, the topic for this week is EDUCATION (queue scary music). Your prompt, is to make an educational game that teaches me something I don’t know. That might sound a bit unfair, but I’m trying to get you to stretch with this one. Don’t teach me addition unless you can blow my mind with some awesome gameplay. Be sure to check out some of the links on the prompt sheet as they will be most helpful to you.

As always, your prototype is due in the comments section by the beginning of class (7PM) on Nov. 7. I’m looking forward to being educated!

Also, be sure to check out some of the lovely people that stopped by and left comments about your games last week. They left you some love so be sure to return the favor!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Educational Games (and a thank you)

  1. Austin House says:

    This took a long time to make, finally done though: Military Spotter Training

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/33230442/Military%20Spotter%20Training/index.html

  2. Tyler Kuhlman says:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/20528044/Lockpicking/index.html

    My game is Lock Picking. I’m liking this one, even though it’s really short.

    Enjoy

  3. Jonathan Buchanan says:

    I give you a real lesson on The Cotton Gin
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42309037/cottongin/index.html

    Can you finish it?

  4. Tunneler. Let’s learn about minerals!

    So many ideas, so little time.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39891216/Games/A7_Tunneler_Luckey.exe

  5. Hey Guys,

    I just finished mine, now I’m going to go crash. It is almost entirely coded, prolly 70+ % of it is anyways. Was a great learning experience. I hope you guys enjoy it and leave some feedback as I’m not going to be able to make it to class today.

    Art Director Approved (remake from the board game last semester)
    http://wolfwere.com/ATECRapidPrototyping/Game08_AD_Approved.exe

    Thanks!

  6. John Hoffman says:

    Mine is nowhere near complete.

    Artillery Commander
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/48632819/Artillery%20Commander.zip

    There are no instruction, so here they are:

    You drive around in your jeep and click on targets you want to acquire. This changes the values in the bottom left, showing your distance from your artillery to the jeep, the jeep to your target, and the resultant angle.

    You use the law of cosines to find the proper distance you need to input on the left side for the range of your artillery. You use the slider on the left to aim your artillery left and right.

  7. Black and White
    http://deammer.com/games/BlackAndWhite/BlackAndWhite.html

    Aye so I saw the video and it taught the player to play IN THE MENU. FUCK. MINDBLOWN. So i tried to do that. Didn’t go as far as I wanted, but you get the idea. I hope.

Leave a Reply

