Let’s-A-Go!

 

Welcome to a new semester of Rapid Prototyping for Digital Games (ATEC 4367).  I’m looking forward to a great semester filled with lots of great prototypes.

First of all, I want to turn your attention to the resource page, where everything you need to get started is located. I have provided links to all of my recommended game creation tools along with some tutorials to help you get started on your journey. You can also find the class syllabus there or simply click on this link to download it.

Your first assignment (The Hello World Game) is due by 7:00 PM on January the 29th in the comments section of this blog post. If you post the prototype and don’t see the post show up right away, don’t freak out. I have to approve new posters so it might take a minute or two.

Your first reading assignment can be found on the Readings page or by clicking this link. It’s a post done by the original Experimental Gameplay Project team that this class is based off of and should shed some light on why some of the processes are the way they are. Have this read by the beginning of class next week and be ready to discuss it

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Let’s-A-Go!

  1. leinadahn says:

    Moo.

    Moo is for Morgan

  2. Evan Manning says:

    Hello. Evan Manning here.

  3. Kody Kaftousian says:

    Hey this is Kourosh Kaftousian. I go by Kody!

  4. ravenloyk says:

    It’s Breanna.
    Leaving a comment.
    Yay.
    k.
    b.ai

  5. Sammy Collins says:

    I am leaving a comment.

  6. oberon1921 says:

    Hey this is John leaving a comment.

  7. Mad_Martigan says:

    Hello this is Ross Rippy.
    1st

  8. alutd2012 says:

    i have made it through the first class. and now am ready for the homework.
    Al wilson

  9. B.J. says:

    Hey This is Brian Miller from ATEC4367. Here is my comment.

  10. jhahn7807 says:

    Hello My name is Eric An

  11. Trey Blankenship says:

    I wonder what creation tool I will use.

  12. vebdainak says:

    Daina Vebeliunas checking in here. My gameplay tends toward JRPG and simulator games, though I have most of the Touhou Project shooters and have recently begun delving into visual novels. Probably pretty safe to say I like puzzle-solving game mechanics and bright, colorful interfaces.

  13. joshc says:

    Josh Carter here. Comment over here!

  14. alutd2012 says:

    the link to my week 1 homework ( or i think that it is)
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/58687719/A_Wilson_week1-hello-world.exe

  15. ravenloyk says:

    If the link doesn’t work or something, let me know.

    http://loyk.deviantart.com/#/d4nw703

  16. oberon1921 says:

    I couldn’t find the clown sprite so I just made a different game if that is alright.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59426732/MoneyGrubber.exe

  17. Trey Blankenship says:

    This is hardly the finished game, but I’m uploading it to show that I’m making progress.

    I keep getting this weird bug where the game objects completely ignore the walls, despite the objects being solid and the sprites having a collision mask. Is anyone else having this problem?

  18. alutd2012 says:

    after running it the sprites did go into the wall but they only turned around and came back out. there was no bounce at random angle to it..

  19. Sammy Collins says:

    Here is my Hello World 1 game. It’s just the little tutorial GameMaker has on the side with the fruits.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36112270/CollinsSammy_Tutorial1.exe

  20. Jacob Naasz says:

    Just a reminder that your first Hello World game is due by 7:00 PM tomorrow. All you need to do is create a game using whatever tools you’d like and post a link to it here.

    I recommend you simply follow a tutorial available online to help familiarize yourself with your tools.

  21. Kody Kaftousian says:

    Here is my Hello World game. I did the fruit game, but i made some modifications to it and make it more challenging than the tutorial.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59516122/FruitCollector.exe

  22. joshc says:

    I used Game Salad to create a version of 1945. I’ve been using Game Salad for a couple of months now and slowly figuring out how everything works.

    http://arcade.gamesalad.com/game/66697?GSCVersion=0.9.6&tokenUsername=renderman09&token=090c0900c843713280605a7c364bb701f1f312a081b90aaa8dbe4447e1cea239

  23. Jonathan Buchanan says:

    Here’s my game. “Theme was unstoppable”…so don’t stop.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42309037/Ohyeah/index.html

  24. My game Idea was a bit larger than I could handle in one week but the player starts in the woods and is suppose to enter a mansion and survive the horror inside and escape with any survivors. I do have plans on furthering this but this is an extremely rough start.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2795960/PrestiaDominic_Game1.exe

  25. Evan Manning says:

    http://www.filedropper.com/manningevangame1

    My game for assignment 1. Followed a basic tutorial for a game called “Catch the Clown.”

  26. jhahn7807 says:

    hello here is a protype 1

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59444623.gm81

    and
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59444623/economy.gb1
    but I try to test every time but monsters and person are keep spining, how those characters stop the spin and stand?

Leave a Reply

