Giant

This week your prompt is to make a game using Giant as your source of inspiration. Have fun with this one! Be creative, let’s see some awesome games!

You also have your midterm failure analysis due. This will end up being a 2-3 page paper in which you discuss one of your prototypes and examine where it failed and what you could to do improve it.

Both the prototype and failure anaylsis paper are due on March 5 by 7PM. Please email the paper to me and post your prototype here.

As a reminder, we are not going to have class on March 5th since I will be out of town. You still have to turn your stuff in though, (so turn it in please)!

Since we won’t meet for 2 weeks and you don’t have anything due when we meet again after Spring Break I thought I’d take the opportunity to give you a chance to ask me some questions that you would like to discuss. You can either post them with your game or come to class with them on March 12.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Giant

  1. moonwalker says:

    Hello
    actually Spring break is start a march 12, so do I have to send a email for game and failure analysis or post a wordpress, or come to class on march 19th?

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      There is class on March 19th but no game for you to make so enjoy the break!

      I am also not starting you on your next game until after we get back so that way we can talk about things and make sure everyone is on track to rock.

  2. ravenloyk says:

    If I remember correctly, I don’t have it with me at the moment, in the assignment sheet you gave a specific wordcount for our paper. Here, you’re saying 2-3 pages. Is the wordcount the minimum, or does it really matter?

  3. oberon1921 says:

    There is a bug where the enemies’ grow right as they begin to change direction and become stuck. I have no idea how to fix it, but there is the slight chance that might happen. I didn’t have enough time to give the boss an attack, but at least you can have some fun trying to kill him. Originally, I wanted to add mushrooms, psychedellic changing background, and music to be funny.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59426732/GrowFunGAI%21.exe

    Space bar: shoots bullets once you have a gun.
    Left/Right arrow keys to move.
    Up arrow key to jump.
    Alt button: Shoots a super bullet if you get the power up.

    Green potions make enemies grow.
    Orange potions make bullets grow.

  4. Sammy Collins says:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36112270/CollinsSammy_Giant.exe

    So my game is you running around, as a giant. Arrow keys move, space to attack and interact with objects.

    Your goal is you are hungry, so you have to constantly eat. You can do this by fishing at a lake (by attacking it) or getting food from villages, which can be done by trading wood from forests or by attacking them, which causes some of the livestock to run away but also cause more humans to come out and try hunting you. Also, there are other giants who don’t like you.

  5. Trey Blankenship says:

    I’m turning my game in as is, even though it’s still very glitchy. The problem is that if you reach a certain size, the star explodes and you start over again.

    The name of the game is Stellar Evolution. The premise of the game is that the player is a star, and you must collect other bodies to expand. Red squares damage you and make you smaller. When you reach critical mass, you explode and the game starts over again.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17530473/Stellar%20Evolution/index.html

  6. alutd2012 says:

    HI
    well Making bread is mine for the week your a giant and your out hunting little blue guys. you hunt (move) with the arrows and catch them with the left mouse button. hope you all like it.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/58687719/Making%20bread-wilson.exe
    and just where do we send the paper ? not to the utd email ?

  7. Kody Kaftousian says:

    In this game, you are Zekk. He has died, and is stuck between heaven and hell. He must go on a journey to get a second chance at life.

    The Directions are inside of the game. *HINT* run over the parchment to learn how to play.
    There is only one problem when you collect the exact number of items to pass to next level, it does an infinite loop. So make sure you get above the exact number of items.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59516122/Zekks%20Passing.exe

  8. Mad_Martigan says:

    You are a large man who can turn into a giant construct. You will need to use this form to deal with the larger enemy on the screen. I was hoping to make a top down zelda style game. I couldn’t get the health and some other bits to work like I wanted. As of now it’s just a sort of an arena combat game.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59622103/prototype%20Giant.exe

  9. Josh Carter says:

    You are a big friendly giant trying to catch flying pterodactyls. But be careful of the little people… if you squish them you lose trust.

    Gold Medal = 30 pterodactyls
    Silver Medal = 20 pterodactyls
    Bronze Medal = 15 pterodactyls

    http://arcade.gamesalad.com/game/73848?GSCVersion=0.9.91&tokenUsername=renderman09&token=090c0900c843713280605a7c364bb701f1f312a081b90aaa8dbe4447e1cea239

  10. Beskar says:

    Here is my game for the week.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59739696/Giant%20Game/ndex.html

    Thanks,
    Brian Miller

  11. ravenloyk says:

    I would’ve added more to it, but apparently I ran out of code allowances. D:
    Oh well.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/19291239/Sizes/index.html

  12. Just a very short platformer with some terrible art in which you are an ant defending your home against the Bee invasion. Stop the boss!

    http://db.tt/ifYnvUfB

  13. Evan Manning says:

    Sorry I’m a tad late I had some weird dropbox issues.
    The Zip file contains both a mac and windows version.

    My game this time is Roboto!
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32788405/Roboto%21.zip
    You control the giant robot on the left. You can fire lasers with space and stomp with shift.
    Destroy planes with lasers and tanks with stomps! You get 10 points per kill, but you lose all points if you get hit.

    • Mad_Martigan says:

      I’m not sure how to play this. I can’t play the exe from the zip directly or when I extract the files? I’m not sure if it’s a compatibility issue with windows or not, I’m just noticing the folder for mac containing the exe and assume this is for Mac and not PC? I’ve tried downloading and extracting it twice. the first time It didn’t extract the whole file.

  14. moonwalker says:

    professor Naasz

    did you get my failure analysis paper from my gmail?

  15. vebdainak says:

    Greetings from the future (kind of)! I didn’t finish a game for this prompt (I need to! I’m missing like three or four games that I need to catch up on! … once I’m done with the Dallas one), but I found this and I thought it was relevant to this prompt, so I’m sharing it anyway.

    http://htwins.net/scale2/scale2.swf?bordercolor=white

Leave a Reply

