No Words

Your assignment this week is to explore storytelling in videogames using no words. Remember, this is not just an exercise in creative storytelling. If you can create a game that doesn’t require any words to explain it, there is no need for localization and things have less of a chance of getting lost in translation.

If you have any questions please post them or email me.

As a reminder, your assignment is due before class begins on April 9. After this prototype we only have one more to go before you begin working on your final so make it count!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to No Words

  1. Evan Manning says:

    Silence my Brother

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32788405/Silence%20my%20Brother.zip

    Zip has Mac and Game Maker verions. .exe once I get to class as usual.

    • Evan Manning says:

      .exe version

      http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32788405/Silence%20my%20brother.exe

      I won’t be in class today so here is a brief commentary: Had a lot of fun with this prompt. I think I’ll be doing more silent story stuff in the future. Making this game reminded me of how much I enjoy point and click style games as well as how much I enjoy making atmosphere. Sounds, art style, and overall tone are all of great interest to me.

  2. alutd2012 says:

    Hi, i call mine The Hood.
    “L” resets room space to start.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/58687719/The%20Hood-no_words1c.exe

  3. Trey Blankenship says:

    I’m starving… and the only food left are rats.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17530473/ImStarvingAndTheOnlyFoodAreRats.exe

  4. WARNING: THIS GAME NEEDS SOUND TO GET ANY STORY. Please listen

    Space bar to send out sound waves
    Arrow keys to move and jump

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hzk5c237yhbb1v9/yOyD8P6BVj/ABlindMansTale.exe

  5. vebdainak says:

    This is only the first stage of “Just Shoot Him”, which I was planning to be a three-stage game– I spent so long troubleshooting the moonwalking zombies and trying to get the transition to Stage 2 to work that only Stage 1 is complete (and I removed the transition to Stage 2 from the version I’ve uploaded). All the heroine (Sara) does is run around and shoot three zombies (who thankfully no longer moonwalk).

    I’ll have the story portion in my WordPress and spend tomorrow fixing Stage 2 and Stage 3 to upload again so she can fight bigger and badder enemies.

    Just Shoot Him (WIP)

Leave a Reply

