Always In Cycles

Welcome to a new semester of Rapid Prototyping for Digital Games (ATEC 4367).  I’m looking forward to a great semester filled with lots of great prototypes.

First of all, I want to turn your attention to the resource page, where everything you need to get started is located. I have provided links to all of my recommended game creation tools along with some tutorials to help you get started on your journey. You can also find the class syllabus there or simply click on this link to download it.

Your first assignment (The Hello World Game) is due by 7:00 PM on September the 6th in the comments section of this blog post. If you post the prototype and don’t see the post show up right away, don’t freak out. I have to approve new posters so it might take a minute or two.

Your first reading assignment can be found on the Readings page or by clicking this link. It’s a post done by the original Experimental Gameplay Project team that this class is based off of and should shed some light on why some of the processes are the way they are. Have this read by the beginning of class next week and be ready to discuss it.

Please have some questions prepared about the tools you are using. This semester I want to try and answer as many questions as I can, but I can’t help if you don’t ask!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Always In Cycles

  1. AJ Paradowski says:

    AJ Paradowski has complied with instructor request

  2. Zach Barnes says:

    This is Zach Barnes, leaving a comment

  3. sefonty says:

    Hi. This is Scott E. Fontenarosa.

  4. Andrew Mitchell says:

    Andrew checking in with the power of the blogosphere

  5. Lindsay says:

    Hello! This is Lindsay o-o….

  6. Kenneth Marshall says:

    Leaving a Comment

    – Kenneth Marshall

  7. tubocass says:

    Brandon Lee checking in.

  8. Evan Kice says:

    I have replied to the first comment.
    -Evan Kice

  9. Carrie Sullivan says:

    No group work, and I get to make games? I think this is already my favorite class ever…

  10. Caitlin Lander says:

    Looking forward to the course!

  11. Evan Kice says:

    Instead of the tutorial, I am uploading something I’ve done in gamemaker previously. Hope this works.
    Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/kbn5zg39c4fy1op/Coup60.exe

  12. Brentt Kasmiskie says:

    Hey, this is Brentt Kasmiskie. If there are several of these I apologize, I have been having some trouble with my various wordpress accounts.

  13. Very excited for this class!

  14. Zach Barnes says:

    Here’s the tutorial game for this week.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/8cl2pggehs3x7ju/Tutorial%20Game.exe

  15. azninvader says:

    A little late but Jin Kim is leaving a comment.

  16. Andrew Mitchell says:
  17. Caitlin Lander says:

    Here’s my first assignment, assuming I got Dropbox working right: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rsnk0s91lczqilj/Lander_Caitlin_tutorial1.exe?%20m

  18. Brentt Kasmiskie says:

    My first assignment, I used some different sprites and music and stuff because I was having trouble finding the correct ones, but it still works. This is the link, I hope it works.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/103397138/kasmiskieBrentt_firstGame.exe

  19. azninvader says:

    Here’s my hello world game (assuming the dropbox link works).
    http://db.tt/vuiUcEc8

  20. Roman Hunt says:

    Submitting my tutorial for this week’s assignment.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/tpuhsm9w461c1by/Roman%20Hunt%20Tutorial%201.exe

    On a side note, I did leave a comment last week per instructions, but now I’m not seeing it in the comments section. Hopefully this won’t be an issue.

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      You’re fine. I just wanted to see people get into the blog and post, but since you did with your project you are fine.

  21. AJ Paradowski says:

    Anyone know how to export correctly for construct? After I export my files to a new folder none of them seem to be my game…

  22. Kenneth Marshall says:

    https://www.box.com/files#/files/0/f/0/1/f_3088531443

    Hello_World game by Kenneth Marshall

Leave a Reply

