30 Seconds

Quick, there’s no time! This week’s theme is 30 seconds and we only have a short time to get it completed. Beat the clock and make an awesome prototype by next class on Oct. 25, focused on the theme and a winner is you!

What are you waiting for? Go go go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to 30 Seconds

    • azninvader says:

      Interesting use of the 30 second theme. The only problem i felt was that the 30 seconds didn’t really lend anything to the game. It felt like I was playing three separate dungeons rather than one big one (if that makes sense). I really enjoyed the concept though and the sprites were fun.

    • sefonty says:

      I can get past the first three spiders. After that, I just can’t figure it out. I like the layout of the level. The giant spider scares me.

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      I really like the reset time feature that lets you keep items you have collected. I can see what azninvader (sorry, I don’t know your proper name) says about it being three different dungeons. A solution to this could be using an inventory management system in concert with the reset time mechanic. The way you have it now allows the player to use as many bombs/ arrow/ whatever as long as they have gotten the item previously. But if you make the bombs limited but reset when you travel back to the original time or if you used them over multiple levels it would break the sense of go here to get this just to reset. Also you have some nice level design ideas that offer interesting puzzle opportunities.

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      I agree with Jin that this is a great use of thirty seconds. I can’t seem to get sound to work, but I wish there was some indication on the screen or with sound that time is running out. I find myself doing something and then suddenly everything resets because I run out of time but I don’t have any warning.

      • Lindsay says:

        Same Link again… but reuploaded because I forgot to think about screen resolutions….
        https://dl.dropbox.com/s/9tkowxbaipbg3ds/30%20Second%20Countdown.exe?dl=1

      • azninvader says:

        I love your idea of a reverse ddr. The main complaint I had with this was the key bindings. Like when abc was the key binding I got really confused because the c key is between the a and b key, and ntv really threw me off (although I don’t know if this was on purpose). I had fun playing the game though and the music was nice as well.

      • This was a lot of fun once I figured it out! I was expecting it to be more like DDR, so I thought you had to hit things as they got to the bottom of the screen. It was much easier once I realized that wasn’t the case. I think allowing a mistake or two might actually make things a bit more fun though. The tension might be just a bit two high when you have to play the entire game perfectly just to make it through.

      • Jacob Naasz says:

        Nicely done on this one. The difficulty ramps up extremely once you add in the weird keys and the things you are and are not suppose to hit. I would increase the time you have to see the rule before each level so that players have time to readjust their hands and then do something to highlight the rule. Maybe show them the keys then the rule afterwards on a separate screen. I can’t tell you how many times I simply didn’t look at the rule because it was in white and I was too busy trying to get my hands right for the next stage.

    • sefonty says:

      Same as Jin, the mapping to ABC was a bit confusing despite being aware of it. I would of liked that hitting the right key presses affected the the song somehow. Also, I immediately died both times I tried the third stage. Was 30 the length in time for each stage?

      • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

        Biggest problem was the ABC binding as was brought up before. Also, I might just not be observant enough, but what were the keys for the third section? I also don’t know how useful the scoring system was, I never got to the end though so it could be important. But it feels like there isn’t much stopping me from constantly shooting even though the score decreases with misses.

  1. Here’s mine. Once again, not very pretty, but it seems to get the job done: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bqyxkr5tu4mnqgy/kI11GE22PY/timeCurse.exe

    If any of you are curious, I used a grid to keep track of the rooms, which seems to be the GM equivalent to a 2D array. When the player steps on a “door” square (the red things), I simply add/subtract 1 to/from the x/y index I’m using to keep track of my location in the array. For example, a room is stored in array[1][1]. If I step on a door heading east, I change my current x to x+1 and thus go into the room saved as array[2][1]. Hopefully that makes sense…

    I’m pretty sure you can use this method to make a randomly-generated map, but I haven’t really tried it in Game Maker yet, only Java.

    • As far as I can tell, you’d just have to randomly stumble into the right room to win the game right? Also, the enemies don’t attack, so it looks like the best thing to do is just walk past them. This really feels like it needs something else. Clues that will lead you to the boss’s room, or having to kill enemies to unlock the doors, something along those lines. Props for figuring out how to use the grid system, though.

    • sefonty says:

      I couldn’t break the curse 😦

      Since time is so limited anyway, it would of been nice to color code completed maps so the player doesn’t end up going in circles into previously cleared out rooms.

      Is “gridding” done through how you name the rooms or actual coding with an array of room objects?

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      It felt a bit too much like luck when I finally got to the yellow cube. Maybe if there was some marking that could hint at the right direction. Perhaps having more enemies near the right door so you are more likely to hit them and lose time.

      It reminds me of a mix between the forest on zelda and smash tv.

    • azninvader says:

      I liked this game. What really helped this game was the fact that you could gain time by killing the plants, so it wasn’t technically 30 seconds. Without that feature this game would have been all luck. Good feature addition. Minor grip would be that when I entered rooms I couldn’t just hold down the button to continue walking, I had to repress the button (super minor though). Probably a more varied set of enemies would do wonders for this game (also unless the stage is super small more time would be better if you plan on working more on this game).

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      Awesome prototype! I’m impressed by the use of an array to handle the room storage. If you could get random generation to work that would be super awesome but as it stands this is a solid prototype.

      The addition of the plants that give you more time was a nice addition that made this game much more achievable. Without them I think it would have been too big to finish, but from the comments I don’t know how many people knew that you could add time by shooting them. Try to think about how you can convey that information better.

  2. Here is my prototype 6:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21179249/Prototype6/index.html

    I made the difficulty pretty tough so see if you can defeat the boss! Use the arrow keys for movement and the space bar to shoot. Gather upgrades to boost your ship’s abilities!

    • Too difficult for me, but I love the retro graphics and sound effects! The way movement works feels really cool and different.

    • Roman Hunt says:

      Very interesting concept in terms of movement. Not very intuitive, though it controlled well after a bit of practice.

      My only issue is that the boss has a ridiculous amount of health; it took about ten minutes’ worth of constant fire to kill. I recommend giving it about 10 to 20% of that.

    • sefonty says:

      I liked sticking to the outer edge. The ship went faster and the bullets had a farther reach. I wasn’t able to get upgrades, it often risked going closer to the middle where it slowed down my ship.

      How did you develop the inspiration for this radial shooter?

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      Cool game. I almost wish the background was different to help orient me in the area, perhaps a tunnel?

    • azninvader says:

      Loved the idea and retro gameplay. The controls were really difficult for me, but I imagine that just how it’s supposed to be. I love how you changed the sounds of the shots to signify that I had a different gun. I feel that this game would be better if the shots were more visible and the enemies were a different color from their bullets. I difficult to distinguish my shots from the particle effects (i am assuming the stars zooming were those) and the ships from their shots (tiny ships look like bullets).

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      Nice retro feel here and a great presentation overall. Controls were a bit wonky, although to be fair Tempest is a bit hard to handle sometimes too. Out of curiosity, how does this fit in with the theme 30 seconds? I’m sure it’s there but it’s not apparent on the surface to me.

  3. azninvader says:

    Here is my prototype.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/46511897/30seconds.exe
    Sorry for the low quality, my computer crashed and I had to rush to make this. Use the space bar to make platforms and they last as long as the time you use on the bottom corner. Unfortunately I couldn’t completely flush out all the bugs. It’s thirty seconds because you can use up to 30 seconds to make platforms (it says 900 because 900 steps equal 30 seconds).

    • I like the idea, but this is in the “toy” stage and not really a game yet, I guess? There’s not a way to win?

    • sefonty says:

      This like the one Hello Word game that placed platforms except this one does what the initial design had in mind. It was bit inconvenient to place platforms while jumping, and at first, the platforms wouldn’t stay in place.

      The goal can be like my Growth game where you just get to the top of the level with the ability and obstacles could be walls.

      If the level was larger or the object smaller (with shorter jump), the amount of platforms that can be placed in 30 seconds would be realistic.

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      I have to agree with Carrie here, fun toy but I really want to see a game here. It’s a great tech demo, but all I get to do is make platforms :).

      Where did you plan on going with this?

  4. Andrew Mitchell says:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24624455/30seconds.exe

    Here’s my 30 seconds game! It’s meant to be two player, but you can only play on one side (or for a challenge, do both!)

    • All you have to do is just hit your key repeatedly so that you’ll definitely hit it as the character goes over the line, so you might want to penalize the player for just hitting their key randomly like this.

    • sefonty says:

      It lives up to the game lasting 30 seconds consistently. However, I feel like the game is over before I even began it.

      As a quick multiplayer challenge, its seems like it can be used to settle disputes.

      It reminds of mini-game challenges for the Wii where the player rigorously shakes the Wiimote for a short amount of time or one of the short mini-games on Mario Party.

      A very skill-based game.

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      I feel like it has the same problem that many previous similar games have had where it ends up being impossible to hit the button at the right time. I’m not sure what could be done about that, but considering the time limit it doesn’t seem to be a big deal.

    • azninvader says:

      This was pretty fun to play with a friend, The biggest problem was that the speed you ended up with was absolutely ridonkulous. I feel that when it becomes impossible for a human to play the game it takes away from some of its fun. Maybe you should have a slower speed increase or more characters to press buttons for (potentially both). Loved the graphics and game despite all this.

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      Fun quick game that feels a lot like a minigame. Sticks to the concept but doesn’t deviate too far from it which works but leaves me wanting more. Your presentation is very nice though.

      What would you do to expand upon this idea?

  5. My game plays off the statistic that a fire can double in size every 30 seconds. Basically see how long you can survive the inferno!
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11956902/TheFireman/index.html

      • I kind of feel like you should have started with either more fire or less water – probably both. Power ups didn’t feel like they did much, because I never ran out of water. Also, some other kinds of items to pick up, or some other objective would have been fun. Maybe instead of just seeing how long you could survive, there could have been some goal, like actually rescuing someone and then making it out of the building.

      • azninvader says:

        First off the fires crashed my computer. I liked the idea behind this game and it was fun to play. The problem I had with this game are: I couldn’t tell how big the fire actually was (i would be injured despite the fact I was nowhere near the fire), I couldn’t tell where the fires were (it would say 8 fires but I would find only 2), the fires just spawned randomly (I was walking then randomly like 10 fires spawned at my position), and water seem to not kill fires (i would spray water and the fire would only disappear when i stopped spaying sometimes). Some player feedback to know that I am taking out the fire would be nice, like a small sound clip or something. Other than that I loved the premise for this game.

      • Jacob Naasz says:

        This felt a bit too random to me. I could never tell where a fire was going to pop up and subsequently wandered around for a while until I was surrounded and quickly died. I agree with Carrie’s comment of more fire less water at the beginning. I was never worried I was going to run out, more that the water didn’t put out fires sometimes.

        Having an indication of where a fire would spawn would be nice too. Some kind of props or something, nothing that would outright say “Hey, I’m going to burn up” but something to give the level a bit of structure. It would also help to see where the fire is spreading.

    • sefonty says:

      Epic title screen. This is a well themed shooter. At some points, I felt like the water wasn’t dousing the flames at all.

      I love how Construct animates sprites, they’re smoother than Game Maker’s “Jump to Position” animation.

    • Have you actually beaten this? I last less than 5 seconds every time.

    • Roman Hunt says:

      Solid survival game. The addition of power-ups was a nice touch, and finally getting one was a great juicy moment. However, they were a bit too hard to get, as they generally dropped in the middle of the swarm. Getting it on the next pass around the map is doable, but not very effective given the short amount of time per level.

    • sefonty says:

      Lol, green square zombies.

      This reminds me how I executed on level in my Seed Home game for the Journey prototypes, so I knew how to beat the game the moment I recognized the “Move Toward Player” animations. I just followed along the the outer walls in a clock-wise motion.

      • Zach Barnes says:

        tried to mix it up a bit with the dark green ones, they move up and down towards you making it a bit more difficult to actually kill em

    • azninvader says:

      I can’t say that I have a fair opinion of this since I never saw a single powerup. A way to fight back against the zombies would have been nice (i am assuming that’s what the powerups did) just from the start. I wouldn’t need something to kill a zombies, but maybe just push them back or something. Enemy types were nice, but the spawns kind of screwed me over at times on the latter levels. Good call on making the zombies bounce away from you after colliding instead of just continuously touching. A great game idea, but I got kinda bored after just running away from zombies for 30 seconds (although I imagine that’s because I couldn’t find the powerups).

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      I was having an interesting time skirting the edges and avoiding the zombies until I realized I could shoot and kill them. Then it became a ring-around-the-dead-zombie game. I feel like obstacles around the edges to keep me from exploiting the zombies would have been nice. That or zombies that were faster than me that I had to avoid but would over shoot and come flying back at me.

      Once I caught on to the edge trick the game became a cake walk.

    • This is clever. It reminds me of a game I’ve played, but I forget what the name of it was.

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      reminds me of shift (I think it was called shift anyways) that flash game where you alter from light and dark. I like it.

    • azninvader says:

      So I don’t know what happened, but I could not finish this game because it would not count down accurately for me. It would go from 30 to 25 to 5 to 28 etc… The idea was good, a shifting between two worlds kind of game. I always enjoy those. I wasn’t sure what the whole point of throwing the key was, but it was fun to do so, so I didn’t question it. I wasn’t really sure what the point of the squares were either, but that might have been because the game went weird on me. Had a fun time hopping around and rapidly changing between worlds and throwing keys though. I would love this game if was actually longer than 30 seconds.

      • sefonty says:

        Key Throwing FTW.

        I explain the time mechanics in my reply to Jacob Naasz’s comment. I didn’t point an indicator of what the squares actually did, so I understand where the confusion comes from.

    • Jacob Naasz says:

      Nice concept here. I was a bit confused on the timing myself but think it revolves around only having 30 seconds in one of the worlds (is that right?). If not that would be a fun concept to explore further.

      The controls felt a bit funny having to hit ctrl to switch between world but that was because I was using my pinky. I would consider making it a right mouse click or space bar or something so that it is easier for a player to press.

      • sefonty says:

        You’re pretty much on the mark in your first observation. My idea was to have time only go forward if the player goes to the right and have time go backward if the player goes to the left. Essentially, the player lives life frame by frame.

        The player starts with only 25 seconds and needs 30 to reach the end of the level. The idea of switching between worlds (or “time mining”) is to get more time by getting the “time tokens.” Going into the other dimension costs 1 second of time and returning to the original dimension costs another 1 second. Time tokens reward 3 seconds; 3 – 2 = 1. This encourages the player to use the dimension warping technique sparingly.

        I agree, the controls were funny at first. I used it because I’m used to first-person shooters that have “crouching” mapped to the left control key. Adding a mapping option or moving it to a more comfortable position would be ideal.

  6. It’s a bit large, so it’s still uploading. I actually already have a version uploaded, but just to avoid confusion, I won’t post the link until I have the new one up.

      • I didn’t use GameMaker this time. Since I knew what I was doing was going to be text driven, and doing that kind of thing in GameMaker is kind of a pain, I decided to use Ren’Py. Ren’Py is actually a visual novel engine (more like a scripting language, really). The one thing I would have liked to have but couldn’t do with Ren’Py (although I probably could have done this if I actually knew how to use PyGame, which is integrated with Ren’Py), would have been to be able to actually have a character move around on screen and walk up to people/objects to interact with them, but this was pretty much boiled down to just giving a player the choice of “go talk to that guy over there” or “go talk to that woman over there.” So while it’s really intended to be more of an adventure game, in some ways the prototype is more like a visual novel.

        I was able to make a timer, though, which isn’t something Ren’Py really does, but I kind of half-faked it and it works (the “timer” is really just a movie, and nothing will appear to happen if the time expires, however, the game will still know in the end if you took too long or not and you’ll get different endings).

        Anyway, clicking the mouse advances the screens, and you can use the mouse to make decisions as they come up. Ren’Py also has nice built in features like save/load/volume controls, etc. that are accessible from the menus.

      • Download and extract, once again…might take a little longer to download this time, because the game actually contains some video files.

      • Also, while the game uses music and a couple of special effects, I would have also liked to have added some sound effects/changes in music/more effects, but I just ran out of time.

      • azninvader says:

        This game was wonderful. Everything I expected to do was the wrong answer, but it was hilarious. The major problem I had with this was that it was difficult to see what the people were saying because the words blended with the box. Other than that I really enjoyed this game.

      • azninvader says:

        Also I learned a valuable lesson. Punching people in the face solves everything.

      • I actually kept trying to fix the problem with the text being difficult to read by changing the theme, but all the themes were difficult to read for some reason (this was actually one of the better ones). I never figured out how to set the text color by itself before I ran out of time and had to turn it in the way it was, but there has to be some way of doing it. So if I ever use Ren’Py again for this class, I’ll make sure to address that issue first.

      • Jacob Naasz says:

        That was a fun little jaunt into your warped mind. Text adventure games are always fun and you didn’t disappoint. Your options were definitely interesting and made for some fun times. I’m not sure how having to run around and interact with objects within the time limit would have helped or hindered the game. I think that in the long run it would make things interesting especially if you had some time based puzzles to go along with the text adventure style things.

    • sefonty says:

      Every time I tried to save the world people kept dying from boredom. 😦

      • Well, that’s what happens when you try to be a hero ^_^;; I thought about taking out that option after the player tried it once, but then I thought that if someone just wants to sit there in an infinite loop instead of trying the other option, far be it from me to prevent them from doing it.

  7. Brentt Kasmiskie says:

    It is totally broken, but I’m working on the fix.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/103397138/30Seconds_kasmiskie_v1.exe

    The original goal was to have you chasing someone and every thirty seconds you would time jump with them and continue the chase. Unfortunately, I have not had time to put good graphics in. Also, the main problem is in the unfinished nature of it, if you use the shrink thing you will get stuck in the ground so try to jump near the end of it.

    • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

      http://dl.dropbox.com/u/103397138/30Seconds_kasmiskie_v1.1.exe

      fixed the shrinking to regular size problem, still a little wonky.

      • Brentt Kasmiskie says:

        http://dl.dropbox.com/u/103397138/30Seconds_kasmiskie_v2.exe

        Sorry it took so long. It should be working properly now, for the most part. try not to jump at the end, you might miss the portal.

      • Fun! It feels well balanced–difficult, but not too frustrating or impossible. There is a bit of a bug where I grew when I was still under something and the game got completely stuck.

      • azninvader says:

        Yeah the shrinking is definitely a little off putting. I’m not sure if you jump farther if you press longer, but if not that should be included (in my humble opinion). Just having a set jump distance for this makes the upper half of the game really difficult. I also like how your game almost has a story to it despite not having words. A futile attempt to escape only to met with the same challenge over and over again. The shrinking mechanic was very interesting.

      • Jacob Naasz says:

        This is a great little runner game you have here. Some instructions or at least an indication of what buttons I should use at the beginning would have been very nice. I also wish there was some indication of when I was going to get big again like a flashing or something. There were definitely times that I got messed up because I didn’t know when I was going to get big again.

    • sefonty says:

      A little too quick for reaction time, and I would get stuck sometimes in the wall. However, there was enough content to see the overall concept for the game.

      I would recommend drawing the time on the view plane since it would go off by itself whenever I got stuck on the walls (unless that was part of the intended design).

      View Plane vs. Level Plane: http://madebyluke.com/gamedesign/tutorials/tut_draw_view.html

  8. tubocass says:

    Terribly sorry about being late this time. I forgot to post this before a meeting.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11289993/30/index.html
    Arrows keys to move, Left-Click to shoot, Right click to grenade. Object is to destroy the green spawner points.

      • azninvader says:

        This game gave me a headache after a while. I couldn’t find the green spawners. All I could do was walk through a small hallway then my player disappeared into a wall of blackness. It was fun to shoot the enemies through the wall and get points off that though.

      • Jacob Naasz says:

        I couldn’t play this for more than a minute without wanting to stab my eyes. Your stab effect is cool, but the frequency you picked made my eyes hurt. I would either make it flicker a bit every now and then or not fade to full black. Having it strobe in and out like you have it makes the game pretty unplayable unfortunately.

    • The screen was hard to look at after a while. Maybe if the timing was a bit slower, or if the light just went out randomly instead of going off and on repeatedly.

  9. sefonty says:

    I like the visual eerie tone you achieved. Was I timed for getting to the door in less than 30 seconds?

Leave a Reply

