Prototype 4

inner

Theme: the inner planets.

Syndicate_wars-screenshot_combat_01

Requirement: Multiple persistent  characters, multiple locations.

Due: February 25th at 4PM

Don’t forget to read: 24 Indie Rules. It is in the reading tab under Indie Game Design Do’s and Dont’s

Good luck and have fun.

-Dr. Christopher

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Prototype 4

  1. Anyone got any ideas on how to setup a variable that tests a value, allowing the corresponding character to move? I can get both characters to move freely but when I swap to view the second player and try to move said player, I get an error message. I’ll display the error below but here’s what I’ve tried:
    – Created the variable under a ‘control’ object in the room where its value is set. Then when I try to move the starting character, the error comes up.
    – Tried creating another ‘control’ object in a different room with the object being persistent and setting the value as well.
    – Again created the same type of object but this time in the player objects (both at the same time and one at a time).
    – Attempted each of these listed as local and global variables. The objects are always placed in the room, as well.

    Error message:
    FATAL ERROR in
    action number 5
    of Keyboard Event for W-key Key
    for object Player_Control:

    Push :: Execution Error – Variable Get -1.can_move(100000, -1)
    at gml_Object_Player_Control_Key_W_5 (line 3) – __b__ = action_if_variable( can_move, 2, 0 );

    Searched the error message online all day but can’t find a solution. The error always go away when I remove my IF condition of: ‘if can_move is equal to 2″ do the following. Removing the condition for both players allows both players to move freely (even when the player is not seen).

  2. I feel like an idiot now. Realized when I was testing the values, I was testing for “can_move” instead of “global.can_move.” This made all the difference and fixed my issue. Should’ve just waited on my post just a moment ago. Oh well, if the post helps someone else then it could be worth it. 🙂

  3. tehwilburforce says:

    Will Szendrey(Works pretty well unless the larger player character touches the enemies in some cases. Then he gets stuck to them for some reason.)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5CksRaIZInVMURsbFZUZm94d00/edit?usp=sharing

  4. Albert Chang says:

    apparently the left and right pointers >< hide themselves and text within… but you can hit the TAB key

  5. tms102020 says:

    Thayne Solcher
    Professor, Game maker ate my homework…
    Seriously though, I went to go work on it some more and the project didn’t show up. I went to open it manually from my documents, it opened, EVERYTHING GONE! So… I’m a tad upset.
    As my hindsight is 20/20, I advise everyone to make multiple save files for your projects, if you don’t already.

    Feelin’ real smart right now…

    • Check your backups folder. Game Maker creates a backup of your games, just in case. The folder is just called “Backups.” The folder was created in my Documents location, which is entirely different physical drive from where my Game Maker program is loaded, as well.

      • tms102020 says:

        Gah…. Well…. ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffidgit
        Just finished making an entirely different game with scraps DX
        Oh well… I kinda like the new one better anyhow.

    • Sean Fagan says:

      Press spacebar to use each alien’s power. Teleporters are supposed to be sending you to a different world, but it’s all gray so that didn’t come across too well.

  6. kyoujiru33 says:

    I didn’t want to turn it in on Tuesday because it was horribly buggy and the movement still wasn’t working correctly.
    Now it’s 48 hours late and it hasn’t gotten much better. You can’t win, killing enemies doesn’t work right, the health bars don’t show up, etc. There is nothing correct about this game.
    If I had two more weeks, this might be a presentable project. As it is, I have to start on prototype 5…
    I should right my super late failure analysis over this game….

    l/r arrow keys to move, up arrow key to jump, alt to switch characters, space to shoot.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/7e3puc524ifw05e/Hall_Prototype4.exe

  7. Jocelynn Hall says:

    I can’t get this post to work either! Yay!! -_-
    I didn’t want to turn it in on Tuesday because it was horribly buggy and the movement still wasn’t working correctly.
    Now it’s 48 hours late and it hasn’t gotten much better. You can’t win, killing enemies doesn’t work right, the health bars don’t show up, etc. There is nothing correct about this game.
    If I had two more weeks, this might be a presentable project. As it is, I have to start on prototype 5…
    I should right my super late failure analysis over this game….

    l/r arrow keys to move, up arrow key to jump, alt to switch characters, space to shoot.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/7e3puc524ifw05e/Hall_Prototype4.exe

Leave a Reply

